Director

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Charli Kruse

Professor Kruse is a biologist and first headed the Fraunhofer IBMT working group in Lübeck, from which the Fraunhofer Institute for Marine Biotechnology EMB emerged. He switched from the Institute for Medical Molecular Biology at the University of Lübeck to the Fraunhofer Society as head of the “Intracellular Transports” working group.

Now he heads the  Institut für Medizinische und Marine Biotechnologie at the University of Lübeck, the Fraunhofer Research Institution for Individualized and Cell-Based Medical Engineering IMTE and the Fraunhofer Development Center for Marine and Cellular Biotechnology EMB. He is a member of the Computer Science / Technology and Natural Sciences Sections and the Medicine Section of the University of Lübeck.

 

Professor Kruse studied marine ecology and received his doctorate in 1993 in the field of fish physiology. In 2000 he completed his habilitation in the field of molecular biology and represents cell biology in teaching.

Leitung des Entwicklungszentrums

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Charli Kruse

Professor Kruse ist Biologe und leitete erst die Fraunhofer IBMT Arbeitsgruppe in Lübeck, aus der dann die Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Marine Biotechnologie EMB hervorgegangen ist. Er wechselte als Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe „Intrazelluläre Transporte“ vom Institut für Medizinische Molekularbiologie der Universität zu Lübeck zur Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.

Nun leitet er das Institut für Medizinische und Marine Biotechnologie der Universität zu Lübeck, die Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Individualisierte und Zellbasierte Zelltechnik IMTE und das Fraunhofer-Entwicklungszentrum für Marine und Zelluläre Biotechnologie EMB. Er ist Mitglied der Sektionen Informatik/Technik und Naturwissenschaften sowie der Sektion Medizin der Universität zu Lübeck.

Professor Kruse studierte Marine Ökologie und promovierte 1993 auf dem Gebiet der Fischphysiologie. Im Jahre 2000 habilitierte er sich in dem Fachgebiet Molekulare Biologie und vertritt in der Lehre das Fach Zellbiologie.