Brief Portrait

We focus on Living cells

The Fraunhofer-Institution for Marine Biotechnology and Cell Technology (EMB) works on research projects that focus on the utilization or analysis of cells.  Our core competence is a wide spread expertise in isolation, handling and manipulation of cells for which we develop possible applications in the medial, biotechnological and nutritional field.

The unique selling points of our institution are the excellent know-how in cultivating cells from marine organisms as well as valuable skills in cryoconservation of fish gametes. Moreover, we have long-standing experience in cultivating adult stem cells from diverse tissue sources. Especially for the exploitation of stem cells from human sweat glands we have a widespread patent portfolio. With the “Cryo-Brehm” we maintain one of the biggest archives for cell cultures from vertebrates worldwide.

For different business areas such as cell therapy, cosmetics, prevention & diagnostics we develop cell-based technologies and devices. Among others organ culture and cell-based model systems are to be applied that we create and adapt for several purposes.

Furthermore, we have a focus on food technology and aquaculture. To utilize marine resources such as fish, shells and algae we develop products along the entire value chain. State-of-the-art aquaculture facilities allow the technical testing of new circularly systems and the co-cultivation of diverse species. In addition, the culture of agricultural crops can be integrated in sustainable aquaponic systems. The utilization of marine resources within the food and feed sectors thus evolves as a new business segment.

With our location in Luebeck the Fraunhofer EMB has a strategic excellent position within Northern Germany. All science centers in the north of Germany can be reached easily which enables us to realize various cooperations. Schleswig-Holstein with its coastal areas on the North and Baltic See is predestinated for such a research institution.

Kurzportrait der Fraunhofer EMB

Lebende Zellen im Fokus

Die Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Marine Biotechnologie und Zelltechnik (EMB) bearbeitet Forschungsprojekte, die eine Nutzbarmachung oder Analyse von Zellen im Fokus haben. Unsere Kernkompetenz ist eine umfangreiche Expertise in der Isolierung, Handhabung und Manipulation von Zellen, für die wir Einsatz- und Verwertungsmöglichkeiten im medizinischen, biotechnologischen und nahrungstechnischen Bereich entwickeln.

Wichtige Alleinstellungsmerkmale der Einrichtung sind das exzellente Know-How zur In-vitro-Kultivierung von Zellen mariner Organismen sowie einzigartige Kenntnisse über die Kryokonservierung von Fischgameten. Darüber hinaus sind langjährige Erfahrungen in der Kultur adulter Stammzellen aus unterschiedlichen Geweben vorhanden. Insbesondere für die Verwertung von Stammzellen aus Schweißdrüsen der Haut existiert ein breites Patentportfolio. Mit dem „Cryo-Brehm“ unterhält die EMB eines der weltweit größten Archive für Zellkulturen aus Wildtieren.

Die Fraunhofer EMB entwickelt zelltechnologische Verfahren und Geräte für verschiedene Geschäftsfelder, z.B. Zelltherapie, Kosmetik, Prävention und Diagnostik. Unter anderem kommen hier Organkultur- und zellbasierte Modellsysteme für unterschiedliche Fragestellungen zum Einsatz.

Ein Schwerpunkt der EMB liegt im Bereich der Lebensmitteltechnologie und Aquakultur. Bei der Nutzbarmachung mariner Ressourcen, wie z.B. Fische, Muscheln und Algen, entwickeln wir Produkte entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette. Modernste Aquakulturanlagen ermöglichen die technische Erprobung neuer Kreislaufsysteme und die Ko-Kultivierung unterschiedlicher Arten. In Aquaponic-Systemen kann die  Kultur von Nutzpflanzen eingebunden werden. Als Geschäftsfeld eröffnet sich damit die Anwendung mariner Rohstoffe im Lebensmittel- und Futtermittelbereich.

Mit dem Standort Lübeck hat die Fraunhofer EMB einen strategisch hervorragenden Platz in Norddeutschland. Von Lübeck aus sind alle Wissenschaftszentren im Norden Deutschlands schnell zu erreichen, wodurch vielfältige Kooperationen realisiert werden können. Schleswig-Holstein mit seinen Küstenabschnitten zur Nord- und Ostsee ist geradezu prädestiniert für eine solche Forschungseinrichtung.