Profile of the Fraunhofer Institution

The Fraunhofer Institute for Marine Biotechnology and Cell Technology (EMB) deals with industry-related research in the field of life sciences.

Our core competence is extensive expertise in the isolation, handling and manipulation of cells. Among other things, organ culture and cell-based model systems are used here for different questions.

Important unique selling points of the facility are the excellent know-how for the in vitro cultivation of cells of marine organisms as well as unique knowledge about the cryopreservation of fish gametes. In addition, many years of experience in the culture of adult stem cells from different tissues of various other vertebrates are available. There is a broad patent portfolio in particular for the utilization of stem cells from the sweat glands of the skin. With the "CRYO-BREHM", the EMB maintains one of the world's largest archives for cell cultures from wild animals.

There is also a focus on aquaculture and food technology. The partly unique, large-scale aquaculture facilities of our facility enable diverse scientific studies and the breeding of marine and limnian organisms, some on a semi-industrial scale. We pursue sustainable approaches such as integrated multitrophic aquaculture (IMTA, breeding of marine fish, mussels and algae) or aquaponics (breeding of fish and vegetables in fresh or brackish water).

 With the extensively equipped technical center for applied food research (TFAL), the Fraunhofer EMB has a multifunctional platform for the development of innovative food supplements, food and feed as well as food additives. When utilizing marine resources, such as For fish, mussels and algae, we develop products along the entire value chain.

With its expertise, the Fraunhofer EMB develops processes and devices for various business areas, e.g. Cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, cell therapy and diagnostics as well as food and aquaculture. In the field of marine biotechnology and cell technology, the EMB also works on topics for the future field of bioeconomy.

With the location in Lübeck, the Fraunhofer EMB has a strategically excellent place in Northern Germany. All science centers in Northern Germany can be reached quickly from Lübeck, which means that diverse collaborations can be realized. Schleswig-Holstein with its coastal sections to the North and Baltic Seas is almost predestined for such a research facility.

Find out more about our networks and partnerships

Profil der Fraunhofer EMB

Die Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Marine Biotechnologie und Zelltechnik (EMB) befasst sich mit industrienaher Forschung im Bereich der Lebenswissenschaften.

Unsere Kernkompetenz ist eine umfangreiche Expertise in der Isolierung, Handhabung und Manipulation von Zellen. Unter anderem kommen hier Organkultur- und zellbasierte Modellsysteme für unterschiedliche Fragestellungen zum Einsatz.

Wichtige Alleinstellungsmerkmale der Einrichtung sind das exzellente Know-How zur In-vitro-Kultivierung von Zellen mariner Organismen sowie einzigartige Kenntnisse über die Kryokonservierung von Fischgameten. Darüber hinaus sind langjährige Erfahrungen in der Kultur adulter Stammzellen aus unterschiedlichen Geweben verschiedener weiterer Wirbeltiere vorhanden. Insbesondere für die Verwertung von Stammzellen aus Schweißdrüsen der Haut existiert ein breites Patentportfolio. Mit dem „CRYO-BREHM“ unterhält die EMB eines der weltweit größten Archive für Zellkulturen aus Wildtieren.

Darüber hinaus gibt es einen Schwerpunkt im Bereich der Aquakultur und der Lebensmitteltechnologie. Die zum Teil einmaligen, großtechnischen Aquakulturanlagen unserer Einrichtung ermöglichen vielfältige wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen sowie die Züchtung mariner und limnischer Organismen, teilweise im semiindustriellen Maßstab. Wir verfolgen hier nachhaltige Ansätze wie die integrierte multitrophische Aquakultur (IMTA, Zucht von marinen Fischen, Muscheln und Algen) oder Aquaponics (Zucht von Fischen und Gemüse in Süß- oder Brackwasser).

 Mit dem umfangreich ausgestatteten Technikum für angewandte Lebensmittelforschung (TFAL) besitzt die Fraunhofer EMB eine multifunktionale Plattform für die Entwicklung innovativer Nahrungsergänzungs-, Lebens und Futtermittel sowie Lebensmittelzusatzstoffe. Bei der Nutzbarmachung mariner Ressourcen, wie z.B. Fische, Muscheln und Algen, entwickeln wir Produkte entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette.

Mit ihrer Expertise entwickelt die Fraunhofer EMB Verfahren und Geräte für verschiedene Geschäftsfelder, z.B. Kosmetik, Pharma, Zelltherapie und Diagnostik sowie Lebensmittel und Aquakultur. Im Bereich Marine Biotechnologie und Zelltechnik bearbeitet die EMB zudem Themenkomplexe für das Zukunftsfeld Bioökonomie.

Mit dem Standort Lübeck hat die Fraunhofer EMB einen strategisch hervorragenden Platz in Norddeutschland. Von Lübeck aus sind alle Wissenschaftszentren im Norden Deutschlands schnell zu erreichen, wodurch vielfältige Kooperationen realisiert werden können. Schleswig-Holstein mit seinen Küstenabschnitten zur Nord- und Ostsee ist geradezu prädestiniert für eine solche Forschungseinrichtung.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Netzwerke und Kooperationen