HANSENETZWERK - Development of new Technologies for Aquaculture

In cooperation with other Fraunhofer institutes, the Fraunhofer EMB plans to set up a network for development of technology on the subject of aquaculture. The aim of the network is to develop and integrate innovative technologies for reducing anthropogenic environmental pollution (through nutrient entry into bodies of water and greenhouse gas emissions into the atmosphere), for energy saving and for improving cost and resource efficiency in the entire value chain of aquaculture.

Following the tradition of the Hanseatic League, the focus is on linking the maritime economy in northern Germany. For this purpose, the technological and economic competencies are used as the basis for growth in the aquaculture sector in Germany in order to bring about a structural change from fishing to fish farming. The need for the desired structural change towards aquaculture is obvious: fish stocks in the oceans are under serious threat, global demand for fish products is increasing, the German fishing industry is shrinking and fish farming is more efficient than with any other animal species (except insects). Compared to the production of pork, fish production uses less than half the amount of feed to produce one kilogram of meat. At present, Germany cannot meet the demand for fishery products from its own production and imports over 86 % of the fish processed and consumed here from other countries. The production output of German aquaculture companies has been declining for several years, most recently by 5.9 %.

The Hansenetzwerk is intended to support German companies in exploiting their existing potential for technology development and increasing their market share in the field of aquaculture.

The Fraunhofer Hansenetzwerk should initially determine the research needs from the aquaculture industry and the upstream and downstream areas. Technological solutions tailored to the requirements of industry are to be developed within the network, whereby German companies can contribute to economic, sustainable and efficient aquaculture.

 

Members

The following institutes are involved in the network on the part of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft:

·         Fraunhofer EMB, Lübeck (Seat of the office)

·         Fraunhofer IMWS, Halle

·         Fraunhofer IGD, Rostock

·         Fraunhofer IIS, Erlangen

·         Fraunhofer IFAM, Bremen

·         Fraunhofer IME, Schmallenberg

In order to determine the specific needs from the industry, an industrial advisory board has already been established, which covers the main areas of value creation and is constructively involved in the network:

·         Nordischer Maschinenbau Rud. Baader GmbH und Co. KG (Mechanical engineering fish processing)

·         neomar GmbH (Construction of onshore plants)

·         Emsland-Aller Aqua GmbH (Development and production of fish feed)

·         Köster Marine Proteins GmbH (Raw materials for fish feed)

·         MonitorFish GmbH (Monitoring, künstliche Intelligenz)

·         EW Nutrition GmbH (Feed additives)

·         CHEFS CULINAR Nord GmbH & Co. KG (Trade)

HANSENETZWERK - Entwicklung neuer Technologien für die Aquakultur

Die Fraunhofer EMB plant, in Kooperation mit anderen Fraunhofer-Instituten, ein Technologienetzwerk zum Thema Aquakultur aufzubauen. Ziel des Netzwerks ist es, innovative Technologien zur Verminderung von anthropogenen Umweltbelastungen (durch Nährstoffeintrag in Gewässer und Treibhausgasemissionen in die Atmosphäre) zur Energieeinsparung und zur Verbesserung der Kosten- und Ressourceneffizienz in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette der Aquakultur zu entwickeln und in die Praxis zu integrieren.   

In Anlehnung an die Tradition des Hanseverbundes liegt der Fokus darin, die maritime Wirtschaft im norddeutschen Raum zu verknüpfen. Hierfür werden die technologischen und wirtschaftlichen Kompetenzen als Grundlage für ein Wachstum des Sektors Aquakultur in Deutschland genutzt, um einen Strukturwandel vom Fischfang zur Fischzucht zu erwirken. Die Notwendigkeit des angestrebten Strukturwandels hin zur Aquakultur liegt auf der Hand: die Fischbestände in den Meeren sind stark bedroht, die weltweite Nachfrage nach Fischprodukten steigt, die deutsche Fischereiwirtschaft schrumpft und die Aufzucht von Fischen ist so effizient wie bei keiner anderen Tierart (Insekten ausgenommen). Im Vergleich zur Produktion von Schweinefleisch kommt die Fischproduktion mit weniger als der Hälfte der Futtermenge aus, um ein Kilo Fleisch zu produzieren. Derzeit kann Deutschland den Bedarf an Fischereiprodukten nicht aus eigener Produktion decken und importiert über 86% des hier verarbeiteten und verzehrten Fischs aus anderen Ländern. Die Produktionsleistung von deutschen Aquakulturbetrieben ist seit mehreren Jahren rückläufig, zuletzt um 5,9%.

Deutsche Unternehmen sollen durch das Hansenetzwerk dabei unterstützt werden, ihr vorhandenes Potential zur Technologieentwicklung auszuschöpfen und den Marktanteil im Bereich der Aquakultur zu erhöhen.

Das Fraunhofer Hansenetzwerk Aquakulturtechnologie soll zunächst die Forschungsbedarfe aus der Industrie der Aquakultur und der vor- und nachgelagerten Bereiche ermitteln. Innerhalb des Netzwerks sollen auf die Anforderungen der Industrie zugeschnittene technologische Lösungen entwickelt werden, wodurch deutsche Unternehmen zu einer ökonomischen, nachhaltigen und effizienten Aquakultur beitragen können. 

 

Mitglieder

Seitens der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sind bisher folgende Institute an dem Netzwerk beteiligt:

·         Fraunhofer EMB, Lübeck (Sitz der Geschäftsstelle)

·         Fraunhofer IMWS, Halle

·         Fraunhofer IGD, Rostock

·         Fraunhofer IIS, Erlangen

·         Fraunhofer IFAM, Bremen

·         Fraunhofer IME, Schmallenberg

Um die konkreten Bedarfe aus der Industrie zu ermitteln, wurde bereits ein Industriebeirat gegründet, welcher die wesentlichen Wertschöpfungsbereiche abdeckt und sich konstruktiv im Netzwerk einbringt:

·         Nordischer Maschinenbau Rud. Baader GmbH und Co. KG (Maschinenbau Fischverarbeitung)

·         neomar GmbH (Bau von Onshore-Anlagen)

·         Emsland-Aller Aqua GmbH (Entwicklung und Produktion von Fischfutter)

·         Köster Marine Proteins GmbH (Rohwaren für Fischfutter)

·         MonitorFish GmbH (Monitoring, künstliche Intelligenz)

·         EW Nutrition GmbH (Futtermitteladditive)

·         CHEFS CULINAR Nord GmbH & Co. KG (Handel)